We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

20 chickens die overnight

ssgirl7855ssgirl7855 Junior Member
edited August 2009 in Poultry Health and Welfare
I am looking for someone with decent knowledge in raising chickens to help me with this one... I have been raising chickens and ducks for over 15 years and I have never seen anything like this before.

About 3 months ago I purchased 21 assorted breed chicks from Tractor Supply Co. All were happy healthy pullets who never had any signs of sickness at all. Two days ago, I woke up to find 20 of them dead in my yard with only one left alive under a tree; barely breathing and unable to stand. All of them were scattered around like they had died suddenly on the spot-some on their sides, some curled up in a ball next to each other, and some face first in the dirt. No markings or signs of injury were found on any of them. It was the most shocking thing I have ever seen.

Now the strange part: I have 5 other older chickens and 2 ducks kept in the same yard, but all of them are fine. They are all fed the same feed and drink the same water. This is why I do not believe it was bad feed, or anything in the water since the other chickens and ducks were unaffected.

The only difference between my pullets and the other chickens is the area in which they sleep. But during the day, they are all together. All are kept in a secure fenced area as well, so I am sure it was not an animal that killed them. Plus as I mentioned before, none had any injuries on them.