We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Hello.....

chookyeggchookyegg Junior Member
edited March 2009 in "Off Your Chest"
Hi my name is Hazel, I have 3 young hens that I bought home 1 week ago. 1 is a light sussex, 1 is a black rock & the other 1 is a golden star.

I am new to keeping chickens so I may need some help/advice sometime in the future :)

Cheers

Comments

• rosieannrosieann Junior Member
    edited March 2009
    Hello Hazel - I hope everything goes well with your new chickens. I have 4 which I got last September. Initially I had a few problems - I let them free range and I think they were eating harmful plants so that's something to be aware of. I now have them inside a 25 metre electric poultry fence and although it's not so much fun for them, at least they are safe. They started laying at the beginning of November and have each laid almost every day throughout the winter - it's still great fun finding the eggs. - Best wishes, let us know when you get your first egg!
  • chookyeggchookyegg Junior Member
    edited March 2009
    rosieann wrote:
    Hello Hazel - I hope everything goes well with your new chickens. I have 4 which I got last September. Initially I had a few problems - I let them free range and I think they were eating harmful plants so that's something to be aware of. I now have them inside a 25 metre electric poultry fence and although it's not so much fun for them, at least they are safe. They started laying at the beginning of November and have each laid almost every day throughout the winter - it's still great fun finding the eggs. - Best wishes, let us know when you get your first egg!