We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Help with Pendulous Crop

PontygalPontygal Junior Member
edited November 2008 in Producers and Vets
Hello all...
9 months ago, I bought my first ever 6 chickens, 2 Sussex Lights, 2 Marans and 1 Rhode Island Red and a Black Rock. They all started laying and we were getting 5/6 eggs a day - however, one day I went to open up the coup and one of the Sussex Lights was laying limply on the floor. Being a complete beginner I took her to the vet, they said her crop was full of food and tried to flush it out but she was struggling to breathe and they thought it best to put her down.