We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Help! Sick Turkey

catcandicatcandi Junior Member
I have 9 blue slate turkeys, 10 weeks old. One has watery diarrhea with bright yellow liquid streaks through it, spends time siting/sleeping and seems to stand with it's head dropped low. I wormed 2 weeks ago with Levamisole. I feed a 20% protien Game Bird Grower/Finisher from the Co-op which has a coccidat medication in it. They are in an elevated pen at night and are allowed in an outdoor ground pen daily. Can anyone suggest what might be wrong with it and how to treat before i lose this one or any others. Thanks in advance for any help you can give. I am new to raising a small backyard turkey flock and really love those birds.

catcandi@aol.com

Comments

• SandySandy Senior Member
    edited September 2006
    Sadly I think your birds have a bad respiratory infection..you really need to see a vet and get some tests done ... and get some antibiotics that will fight it quickly or you may lose them
  • catcandicatcandi Junior Member
    edited September 2006
    Thanks for your reply Sandy. I took the sick one to the only vet I could find in my area that would even see it. I don't know that he has alot of experience. He gave me Tetracycline capsules. 1/2 cap. each day / each turkey for 14 days. He said to also keep them on the Sulmet. I lost the initial sick one. Another is exhibiting the same symptoms now. I tried to get a necropsy done, but the only place near me is Univ. on TN and it costs $200. Let me know if you have any other suggestions.
    edited September 2006
    I should have said in the last post that the vet spun a fecal sample. It showed no worms or coccida.
    edited September 2006