We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Hi everyone newbie here

2»

Comments

• sandiesbrahmassandiesbrahmas Super Moderator
    Al, I am just catching up on your thread....lovely animals.....and clearly a very lucky bunch. I may have missed it (attention span of a parsnip), but how much land do you own and how long have you been 'collecting' animals? I've had as many as 5 cockerels together without anything more than the occasional display to establish the pecking order, but this needs a combination of good luck as to the 'personalities' of the birds and neighbours (and yourselves!) who don't mind crowing, 'cos there's lots of it.
    I'm a collector myself...currently under 20 chickens, over 100 sheep, 2 cats. a Border Collie (non-working) and various short-term visitors (mostly hedgehogs and bats).
    We have adders over here,too, and they are rather rare in Britain and none in my area. I'm sure that their bite is very painful and your poor Zak is lucky to be OK after it.
    Marie, I didn't know you worked in greenhouses (as it were).I'm going to get one next year, but want one of those polycarbonate or 'bubble wrap' types..

Sandie

• Al JonesAl Jones Junior Member
    Hi,
    We have the use of 360 acres and two huge barns here, we held out for the right place and luckily we found it, the house is 1546 circa, a well out the back with a tap for cooking and drinking separate.
    Happy as pigs in a sty here.
    Sounds amazing.
    That's a lot of land to look after.....
    A very old house, too. 
    Do you have any pigs?
    We live in an old house....unsure o date, but not as old as yours....with a spring for water supply, rather than a well.

Sandie
    Next year looking at pigs, looking into Venison also.