We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Chicken Intelligence

JessticleJessticle Junior Member
edited August 2011 in "Off Your Chest"
For an investigative project at college I am studying the intelligence of chickens, to detirmine whether chickens are actually intelligent or not, looking at pecking orders and chicken ancestory (eg jungle fowl). I was just wondering if anyone here had any opinions or experiences they would like to share that could help me with my project! :)

Thanks
Jess

Comments

• edited October 2010
    I keep around 400 rare breeds and I should imaging 99% of them have a higher IQ than the numbskull that thought this question needed a project built around it.

Please tell whoever it is that sets these stupid investigations to come up with a project whereby the students learn something worthwhile to take them into a real world situation.
  • undautriundautri Senior Member
    edited October 2010
  • sandiesbrahmassandiesbrahmas Super Moderator
    edited October 2010
    Whether instinct or intelligence I do not know, but mine will usually find their way to the dog's bed outside if they have not made their way to the coop by nightfall.They know where I keep the poultry corn and how to open the bag.
    They know when I call 'Chickens' it means I have food for them and don't confuse it with me calling any of the other animals or people by name.
    They know individuals and don't trouble visitors when they come to the house, but almost mob any member of the family when they get home, hoping for treats.
    The programme suggested by Kath will make folk think twice about calling someone 'Bird brain'.