We have recently updated this site to improve security. As a result you may need to reset your password next time you log in. Simply click the Reset Password link and follow the instructions. Sorry for any inconvenience.

sick chicken. Help!

streetsx4streetsx4 Junior Member
edited January 2007 in Poultry Health and Welfare
Dear all, i am a novice to hen keeping but all has been going well untill one of my hens took to their bed! She started to go directly to where she lays in the morning and i don't think coming out much. At first i put this down to the cold, wet and windy weather but now she does not want to go to bed either. I have put her in a large rabbit hutch/run but she is grumpily refusing to stay in the bedding area. Instead sitting on the concrete floor. I have not seen any other signs and all the others are fine (abit fed up with the weather - but who isn't). She is happy to be moved but her comb is paler and not pert. I would hate to play the aiting game if the answer is obvious to the experts! Please help

Comments

• crazychickcrazychick Senior Member
    edited January 2007
    You say that she is going to her laying box (or nest) and refusing to leave? I would guess that she is broody? This means that, after laying several eggs (and depending on the broody nature of the individual hen), the hen will stay on the nest, refusing to leave, and only eating once or twice a day. If you pick her up off the nest, they often are in a trance-like state, then wake up and cluck madly, running around the barn, eating, pooping and then running back to the nest. If you take them away from their nest, they will sulk for about 4 days, and then USUALLY return to normal when you put them back with the flock. Occasionally, a hen is stubborn and returns to her nest after several days of being separated and still tries to hatch her eggs.