converting website visitors why is hen eating her own eggs? - The Poultry Site Forum - news, features, articles and disease information for the poultry industry

why is hen eating her own eggs?

hillies Junior Member
edited January 2013 in Poultry Health and Welfare
I'm sure this is a very basic question however I am new to it all. Brought home 3 hens yesterday. Just went to check on them and saw one hen eating the remains of her own egg. It was very soft. Why do they do that? Is it permanent? Thanks

• Sandy Senior Member
    edited October 2006
    Being a soft shell it probably broke and this is why she ate it

Here is a list of reasons why hens eat eggs...

Egg Eating Birds

Egg eating in a laying flock can cost a producer considerable money. Like many bad habits, it is much easier to prevent egg eating than to cure the habit once it has developed. It is usually initiated by accidental egg breakage, but birds will then learn to break eggs themselves.

Egg eating occurs primarily in flocks that are kept on the floor (i.e., not in cages). A number of factors can contribute to egg eating.

Egg eating can result when
    The hens are overcrowded,
    When light intensity is too bright,
    When there are inadequate nests,
    When the nests are not constructed properly,
    Or when there is insufficient nest litter.

Some small flock owners throw cracked or broken eggs on the floor for the chickens to eat. This practice will encourage egg eating.

Failure to house pullets before heavy egg production begins
    Failure to provide nests on range, or
    Failure to train pullets to lay in nests may also cause egg eating to develop.

When pullets begin laying, or when they are moved to the laying house, they should be trained to use the nests.

Providing roosts during the growing period contributes to greater ease in training pullets to use nests.