converting website visitors Hi everyone newbie here - The Poultry Site Forum

ThePoultrySite.com - news, features, articles and disease information for the poultry industry

Hi everyone newbie here

Al JonesAl Jones Junior Member
edited May 2015 in "Off Your Chest"
Hello...
Tina and I have fenced off 7metres x 22metres area for our new chicken coop and area and are looking for advice and guidance on getting 6 hens and a cockerel.

The breeds we fancy so far are the West Sussex and Welsummer. We are very new to this and we are looking for layers for the house and to build our own flock. What's the do's and don'ts?

We live Essex/Suffolk border,

Thanks.

Al

Comments

• Helen McGregor Junior Member
    edited January 2015
    Hello, I'm a new member too with not much experience, but I do have experience of having a cockerel with six hens. It was a disaster and I was advised that one cockerel need 15 or more hens. My cockerel bullied one hen so badly that she ran away from home and laid her eggs under a hedge - 21 when we found them. We got rid of him and after a lot of trauma managed to recapture her and shut her in the coop so that she realised that he was gone and she could live in her coop with the other girls again. Unless you're thinking of breeding, I would advise that you don't have a cockerel and if you do want to breed, get the ratio sorted out.

But what do I know?!!!

Helen. McGregor
  • Al JonesAl Jones Junior Member
    edited January 2015
    Thank you Helen

I will take your advice on board !

Regards Al
    edited April 2015
    Well I/we got our six lady's from The Suffolk Chicken Company, very pleased with them !

Can't post any pics though as the URL won't copy !

Anyway the Coop and pen are built and painted, the lady's had their first night, cockerel coming later !
  • solarbatssolarbats Senior Member
    edited April 2015
    Hi Al,

Sorry I missed your original post. Welcome to the forum!